Summer Beauty Routine

IMG_0402

Breakouts have always been a nightmare. Although I don’t get them as often as I did as a teenager, when they do occur, they leave behind dark marks that take weeks, if not months to fade. Having hyper pigmented skin, I’ve had to find products that would help alleviate this issue. There is nothing worse than feeling as if people are paying attention to your acne scars as opposed to you.

I’ve tried all sorts of treatments to help fix this skin condition. I’ve gone to a dermatologist, which proved to be more expensive than it was effective. I’ve tried a Groupon deal at a spa for a chemical peel, which was way too harsh for my skin. I’ve even tried natural remedies such as a lemon and honey mask, which burns beyond belief. I started doing more research on which acids safely helped to increase skin cell turnover, without causing my skin to become overly dry. I also tried looking for a line of products that wouldn’t burn a hole in my pocket, after having paid that dermatology bill.

IMG_1198

Thankfully, I’ve finally found a skin care regimen that has worked miracles for my skin. For almost a year, I’ve been cleansing my face with Clean & Clear’s Morning Burst Facial Cleanser. This particular cleanser has vitamin c, which is great for lightening dark marks on your skin, and it is also perfect for those of us who suffer from oily or combination skin. Once I’ve cleansed my skin, I move on to toning my face, to make sure all the dirt and makeup of the day is completely removed from my pores.

IMG_0400

Clinique’s Acne Solution Clarifying Lotion has been one of best discoveries for my skin. Not only is all the dirt thoroughly removed from my skin, but it also has salicylic acid which helps speed up skin cell turnover. Speeding up skin cell turnover helps get rid of acne scars and dark marks left behind from a breakout. After toning my face, I move on to my eye cream, which I am able to use both night and day.

IMG_0401

Before using my eye cream, I noticed that I was developing fine lines under my eyes that would look even worse with my under eye concealor. Thankfully, through gaining points at Sephora, I was able to receive a free sample of Clarins Eye Contour Balm. This eye cream specializes in reducing the looks of fine lines and wrinkles, not to mention a little goes a long way with this product. I’ve used it since January and have noticed a significant difference with the appearance of my eyes, as well as how well it works with my makeup.

IMG_0396

IMG_0398

The last step of my nighttime routine is applying Josie Maran’s 100% Pure Argan Oil as my moisturizer. At first, I was skeptical about using oil on my acne prone skin, but I’ve realized that it has somehow regulated the amount of oil my skin produces, while adding a natural glow to my skin. Two drops of argan oil before bed, and my skin is completely moisturized throughout the night.  I also use this as part of my daytime routine along with Clinique’s Broad Spectrum Sunscreen in SPF 50, which works as a moisturizer while protecting your skin from harmful UV Rays.

What are some of the products that you’ve used this summer? What are some products that you’re interested in trying to improve your skin? Let me know in the comments below. Until next time!

 

One thought on “Summer Beauty Routine

Leave a Reply

