The Time I Almost Attended NYFW

Hey everyone! Hope you all enjoyed your weekend! Being that it is Fashion Week here in NY, I thought I’d share a quick story of how close I came to attending Givenchy’s show this past Friday.

Courtesy of Refinery 29

Two weeks ago, Givenchy released a small notification stating that they would be raffling free access to their show on Friday 9/11. As you can imagine, everyone who was notified immediately filled out the above form once it became available. Only a select few received confirmation that they would be attending the show and unfortunately, I was not one of them. Luckily for me, my good friend got the golden ticket and was able to bring a plus one. She very kindly invited me and ran through the logistics of where and when we were to pick up our tickets. You can only imagine how excited I was to know that I received a second chance to witness Givenchy’s Spring line and bask in the glow of New York’s socialites and celebrities, while drooling at the display of art that Riccardo Tisci brilliantly orchestrated.

I was just about to spend the last of my checking account on a magnificent cape, when I received the devastating news. My friend misread the RSVP deadline and missed the chance to confirm that she would be attending the show. Heartbroken, I counted my blessings as to how much money I saved from not purchasing that cape. ($189 to be exact.) Of course, purchasing the cape would not have been responsible, but then being that this might have been my once in a lifetime opportunity to attend a fashion show, Givenchy at that, I figured why not?

At least I got to enjoy the show online! Better luck next year! Until next time…

Leave a Reply

