Rules To Live By

Hey everyone! Hope you all had a great weekend!

This weekend was actually phenomenal weather wise, compared to last week’s snow storm. Now that the last bits of brown, dirty snow is melting away, I’ve regained my motivation and inspiration.

Like many people, I tend to fall into a trap from time to time of complacency. I will most likely get in a mood where I lose my drive and with that comes loss of creativity. I’ve written many posts in the past about this very problem. But, at the risk of sounding redundant, I am here today to share some rules to live by, to keep you going when you, too, become complacent.

  1. Be Silent, Be Still: I have a problem with sitting still and being present. Part of this rule, for me, is learning to just relax. Watch some t.v., listen to a good podcast, read a new book, or even just meditate. These things not only bring relaxation, but inspiration as well.
  2. Accepting Things For What They Are: Part of finding myself as an adult is knowing that I can control but so much. It’s a lot easier if I learn to accept things, rather than fight them, and maybe I’ll appreciate them even more.
  3. Be Determined, Not Stubborn: So, I’m  a Taurus. According to every Astrological article I’ve ever come across, I am innately stubborn. Ironically, I come from a long line of stubborn people in my family, so it’s safe to say that I didn’t have a chance. That being said, I’m learning to turn this somewhat negative quality of mine into something positive; determination.
  4. Smile More: Last, but definitely not least, smiling. It seems trivial, yes, but you would be surprised at how a smile can make someone else’s day. Living in NYC and commuting back and forth everyday is miserable at best. In the last few days, however, I’ve been making an effort to not only make eye contact, but to smile as well. (Thankfully to people who have not been creepy in response.) It’s actually made my days a whole lot better as a result.

What are some rules that you live by to keep you grounded? Let me know in the comments below.

Look out for my “Glam” Makeup Look next week. Can’t wait to share! Until next time…

Leave a Reply

